Our History

We have been operating since August 2004. A lot of people have contributed to the successful setup and operation of the CTC. The timeline below lists some (by initials with names at the bottom) but not all of them.


Dates Activity
March Nabiac Chamber of Commerce & Tourism forms CTC subcommittee (PS, GW, BG)
June Formulation of Nabiac Community Survey re feasibility of CTC (GW, BG)
October Presentation of survey results to CTC@NSW head office (GW, BG)
November 8 Submitted “Application For Seed Funding For A Community Technology Centre”
December Application rejected
March Submitted revised application
August Notified that application was successful
September Steering Committee formed (GW, BG, JW, SP, GC, TG, MP, PL, KJ)
January First grant payment received, $22 thousand
March Second grant payment received, $92 thousand
April-June Building renovation work: remove wall, paint, install security doors & screen, air-conditioner, carpets, LAN wiring, cleaning (TG, PL, SP, JW, BW, BJ)
June CTC AT NABIAC INC incorporated, and ABN/GST/PAYG registered
June Equipment purchased and installed: 13 PCs, photocopier, 2 colour printers, scanner, data projector, 9 desks, 15 chairs, 2 whiteboards (TG, OH, PL)
August 2 CTC@NABIAC opens to public in Neighbourhood Centre
August 8 Deposited first money earned in bank
August 14 Wootton Outreach opens to public in Brush Turkey, Wootton (TG, WC)
October 26 Third grant payment, $32 thousand
December Purchase 2 coin-operated PCs for Doranwoods Cafe (now the Nabiac Cafe) (GE)
December Change 2 Wootton PCs to coin-operated (TG)
January Install coin-operated PCs in cafe connected to CTC via wireless link (TG)
January 18 Bank first takings from cafe
January 25 The Nabiac CTC was officially opened by the Hon John Della Bosca, the NSW Minister for Commerce, and Mr Bob Baldwin MP. (MP, CC)
June 30 Fourth grant payment, $14 thousand
January Set up Access@NSW – free access to NSW Govt website
May 24 Grant audit completed
October 24 Final grant payment, $12 thousand

BG – Bruce Glimmerveen; BJ – Bill Jones; BW – Bill Wood; CC – Cecilia Craddock; GC – Geraldine Carson; GE – Greg Ebeling; GW – Garry Williams; JW – Jillian Wood; KJ – Kim Jones; MP – Marie Power; OH – Oliver Hoffmann; PL – Peter Loveday; PS – Paul Shaw; SP – Sheila Perrottet; TG – Tim Gething; WC – Wayne Cooper